• Christine Lissner
  • Thomas Paul

Post-docs and senior researchers

PhD students

  • Vittorio Cozzolino (Sensing on demand platform for heterogeneous environments)
  • Linus Dietz
  • Michael Haus (Privacy-preserving proximity services)
  • Daniel Herzog (Group recommender systems)
  • Teemu Kärkkäinen (Delay-tolerant and opportunistic networking systems)
  • Ljubica Pajević Kärkkäinen (Mobility modeling)
  • Leonardo Tonetto (Mobile measurements and data analysis, mobility modelling)

External PhD students

  • Saba Ahsan (@Aalto, Internet measurements, video modeling)
  • Ermias Andargie (@Aalto, Mobile data analysis)
  • Alemnew Sheferaw Asrese (@Aalto, Internet measurements, QoE modeling)
  • Ari Keränen (@Ericsson, Delay-tolerant networking and the Internet of Things)
  • Maël Kimmerlin (@Aalto, virtualization, cloud bursting)
  • Arseny Kurnikov (@Aalto, Security and application processing in opportunistic networks)
  • Roberto Morabito (@Ericsson, METRICS ITN, Lightweight virtualization, Internet of Things)
  • Marcin Nagy (@Aalto, Security in mobile and opportunistic networks)
  • Ines Robles (@Ericsson, METRICS ITN, Internet of Things)


  • Chenren Xu - Peking University
  • Sasu Tarkoma - University of Helsinki
  • Hannu Flinck - Nokia Bell Labs
  • Leonardo Tonetto - Telefónica
  • Andrea Passarella - IIT-CNR
  • Ahmed Helmy - University of Florida

Graduated PhD students

  • Petri Laari (@Ericsson, Aalto, 2017): State-Efficient Forwarding with In-packet Bloom Filters.
  • Varun Singh (Aalto, 2015): Protocols and Algorithms for Adaptive Multimedia Systems.
  • Somaya Arianfar (Aalto, 2015): Revisiting Resource Utilization in the Internet: Architectural Considerations and Challenges
  • Philip Ginzboorg (Aalto, 2014): Security Mechanisms in Partially Isolated Networks.
  • Mikko Särelä (Aalto, 2011): BloomCasting for Publish/Subscribe Networks.
  • Mikko Juhani Pitkänen (Aalto, 2011): Data Availability in Challenging Networking Environments in Presence of Failures.